Pour yourself a drink, put on some lipstick, and pull yourself together

 For a twenty-first century teenage girl I understand the notion of ‘Pour yourself a drink, put on some lipstick, and pull yourself together’ (Elizabeth Taylor)  for isn’t that what we do? Our generation is all about being the best, we’ve been fed that since the cradle. We want to be the prettiest, we want to be liked. We want that guy to like us. We don’t want anyone to know that we really cry ourselves to sleep, or to see the cuts, we don’t want anyone to see us without that layer of gunk on our face. We hope that if we coat all the pimples and imperfections we’ll feel better. Maybe we’ll get a date or maybe someone will love me if I hide ‘me’ enough from it.

Maybe I’m biased because this is  the norm I’ve been acquainted with for so long. I remember the first time I ever wore makeup, I was nine years old, and like any kid starting puberty I wasn’t a picture of beauty. But putting on the make up, I didn’t look half bad, actually I looked pretty. From that moment on, I had a fixation with wearing makeup. And when I was eleven I started to sneak into my sister’s room to use her makeup and I stole some and hid it where I hoped she’d never find it. And you know what that makeup made me feel beautiful, though, looking back, my early attempts made me look ridiculous.

make up vs natural

See look, I can make myself look unrecognizable with some help. isn’t easier to forget about everything bad in life when you are ‘pretty’? 

I still wear makeup and it still makes me feel beautiful. It works like the saying “a little powder, a little paint, makes you look like what you ain’t” Just like masks make normal warriors more violent because their identity is hidden. Makeup makes plain girls models and for anyone it’s a lot easier to feel confident when you look like what you ain’t.

But then we get to the Stefani Germanotta quote “Whether I’m wearing lots of makeup or no makeup, I’m always the same person inside” Which is true. No amount of mascara, eyeliner, lipstick, blush, or concealer can change who you are. So I could give you the lessen to not wear makeup because the heartbroken are still aching,makeup just adds to the misery when you remove it and think back to all those you’ve fooled. But if I told you that I would be a hypocrite because I myself have succumb to the addiction.

Instead my point to you will be that for you who have not yet believed the lie that the mask will ‘help’ you, don’t believe it. For yeah maybe you will get hit on a little more but that won’t help you it doesn’t change you on the inside.It is double edged in hurting you: because you attract those who like you for who you are not and by covering who you are you lessen your chance of those falling in love with who you are. Maybe it sounds cheesy, a little dramatic but it’s true.

As for us who have already succumbed to it, don’t forget which face is yours, you might not think it as pretty, but just because your face isn’t that of a model’s doesn’t mean it’s any less precious to those who truly love you. And one day we are faced with the ugly facts of life no matter how much gunk we put on our face and pretend they don’t exist.

Leave a Reply

