They are just as real as you and me

The following piece is an ekphrastic poem about the artwork. enjoy-Myn K. 

Not my original work, just used as inspiration
Not my original work, just used as inspiration

Standing tall as one can see

Don’t worry, you’re safe with me

Fake as one could ever be

Pretend that no lies remain beneath.

But I know the truth underneath

And sure as heck you know too

Those raven flying from your doo

I heard once that demons fly

Black as death, masquerading to defy

And I feel like you have a guise

I see it in your hollow eyes

There is no love, no hate to comprehend

Empty and alone, you pretend

Staring death in its eyes

Claiming never to be afraid of demise

Watching all the lies crumble

Watching anger tumble

Leaving only the empty scum

Of the monster that you’ve become

But don’t worry; your secret is safe with me

As long as I am not the next victim of your spree

Leave a Reply

