If Only All of Life Was This

The day I came home from the hospital my elder sister dubbed me the Princess of Fairyland; and for a time my siblings and I indulged that we were in fact in Fairyland: riding unicorns, having adventures, solving mysteries and having a jolly good time. But as time progressed, my siblings became teenagers and eventually adults and I was left alone with a desolate fort that had once stood as a magnificent castle. These were the icons that were now the only memories left of the once gleeful days we had enjoyed so much.  Now those forts have fallen over or been burnt and the memories slowly disappear with them. Memories of better days when evil always lost and we were unbreakable. I f only all of life could be as innocent as childhood.

Leave a Reply

